Since 1919

The Prairie News

Since 1919

The Prairie News

Since 1919

The Prairie News

WT Faculty Members Earn Development Grants

West Texas A&M University faculty members earning development grants include, from left, Dr. Amy Andersen, Dr. Jeremy Lewis, Darla Marcear, Zeth Collom, Bradley Behrmann and Dr. Paul Clark. Not pictured are Dr. Jeff Hatala, Emmanuel Lopez, Dr. Maitreyee Mukherjee, Dr. Vinitha Subburaj and Dr. Rebecca VanderLeest.

CANYON, Texas — Nine West Texas A&M University faculty members earned more than $18,000 in grants through the University’s Office of Academic Affairs.

The development grants will finance travel and professional development for the faculty members.

More than $6,000 in additional funds were awarded this year.

“The purpose of the awards is to improve teaching and the educational experience for WT students,” said Dr. Bryan Vizzini, professor of history and director of WT’s Teaching Excellence Center. “We are looking for what these grants can ultimately help faculty bring back to the classroom, department, college and University.”

Faculty members earning grants include:

  • Bradley Behrmann, assistant professor of musical theatre, to attend the Edinburg Theatre Fringe Festival with WT theater and dance students;
  • Dr. Paul Clark, professor of history, for multi-engine flight training essential for his Fundamentals of Flight class;
  • Zeth Collom, instructor of communication disorders, for Estill Voice Training course;
  • Dr. Jeff Hatala, assistant professor of health sciences and program director at the RELLIS Campus, for certification from Myers Briggs’ Strong Interest Inventory;
  • Dr. Jeremy Lewis, associate professor of low brass, to record tuba repertoire from the University Interscholastic League’s prescribed music list;
  • Emmanuel Lopez, Permian Distinguished Artist and Harrington Lecturer in Cello, to participate as faculty cellist at the Interharmony Music Festival in Acqui Terme, Italy;
  • Darla Marcear, clinical coordinator and instructor of communication disorders, to attend the Apraxia Kids National Conference in Plano;
  • Dr. Maitreyee Mukherjee, assistant professor of biology, to attend the Tiny Earth partner symposium at the University of Wisconsin–Madison; and
  • Dr. Rebecca VanderLeest, assistant professor of geology, to attend a workshop and construct a course entitled Geology in Our National Parks.

Faculty members represent three of WT’s six Colleges: the Paul Engler College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences, the Sybil B. Harrington College of Fine Arts and Humanities, and the College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

Dr. Amy Andersen, associate provost and professor of education, and Dr. Vinitha Subburaj, associate dean of the College of Engineering and associate professor of engineering, also won an academic administrative development grant to attend the Harvard Management Development Program, which provides discussions, interactive presentations and immersive experiences.

Grants were awarded during an all-faculty meeting May 4, before WT’s May 13 spring commencement ceremonies.

Recruiting, retaining and rewarding exceptional faculty members is a key component of the University’s long-range plan, WT 125: From the Panhandle to the World.

That plan is fueled by the historic, $125 million One West comprehensive fundraising campaign. To date, the campaign — which publicly launched in September 2021— has raised more than $125 million and will continue through 2025.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The PRAIRIE Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *